You are here Home » Featured » Airtel Nigeria scoops three Awards at the NTIT 2017

Airtel Nigeria scoops three Awards at the NTIT 2017

by Milicent Atieno
Nigeria Technology Innovation & Telecom Awards (NTIIT) 2017

Saturday, Nov. 11, 2017 – The Association of Telecommunications Companies of Nigeria (ATCON) held the Nigeria Technology Innovation & Telecom Awards (NTIIT) 2017. The award saw one of the country’s leading mobile service carrier, Airtel win three accolades.

The event was graced by the attendance of leading players in the Nigerian telecommunication space. Airtel Nigeria bagged three awards at the event:

The CSR Initiative of the Year – Airtel won this award because of its Touching Lives program.

Telecom Marketing Campaign of the Year

The telecom’s Managing Director and CEO, Segun Ogunsanya won the Telecom CEO of the Year award.

The President of ATCON, Olusola Teniola, said during the presentation of the Telecom CEO of the Year Award that Ogunsanya had steered the telecom to grow bigger and bigger. Teniola commended Ogunsanya and said he demonstrated impeccable leadership deserving of the award.

The event also provided the platform for the Nigeria Communication Commission (NCC) to show the appreciation of the cooperation it is getting from ATCON in fostering world-standards in the telecom industry.

The NCC Executive Chairman, Prof. Umar Garba Danbatta thanked ATCON for their cooperation saying:

As we build up our relationship with telecom bodies, NCC will continue to do its best in order to ensure that consumers are protected and empowered. Let me assure that the boards of the NCC is fully committed to ensuring that we attain the broadband innovation of 40% and be consistent with the Nigerian broadband plan.”

The ATCON President, Teniola, reiterated their commitment to recognize and award companies in the ICT sector churning out innovative and creative solutions to the socio-economic challenges.

ATCON thought the only way to further encourage innovation and creativity in the industry is to reward those who are not resting on their forte and to encourage them to do more. Secondly, we believe that as some companies and individuals receive awards today, it is our utmost believe that it will encourage innovation and creativity in others. This will also lead to further investment into the sector.”

Other notable awards given out at the NTIIT 2017 include the Telecom Man of the Year awarded to Prof. Umar Danbatta, Life Time Achievement Award; Nigeria Internet Registration Association (NiRA) – Special Recognition Award for Promoting Nigeria to Dr. Ernest Ndukwu.

You may also like