Share on Pinterest
Share with your friends










Submit

As a Kenyan, we recently had our national elections, where various people were running for various seats. However, the presidential race was divisive, elicited a lot of strong emotions, and (again) unearth the dark sides of humanity.

One News Feed was filled with what started as political chest thumping from both sides of the political divide, then there were posts about victims of police shootings, then there were post about young innocent kids being killed. However, the worst types of post came from friends tying to give their ‘two cents’ about what’s going on.

Emotional maturity dictates not to react to such posts, as they will only lead to back and forth exchanges with no meaning. The other best alternative would be to unfriend such friends on Facebook, or even block them. Then you will have the space to view your News Feed on Facebook without getting worked up, but unfriending or blocking someone sometimes is a bit over-the-top reaction.

Not to mention that person might be someone you need to maintain communication with for either social or work related stuff. They just happen to hold a different view from you and decided to share on their timeline, but that view rubbed off on you the wrong way. Generally, you don’t find them annoying or offensive, but for that particular point in time, they are far from your favorite persons on Earth. Those feeling will wear off with time and you will resume your dealing with them; just not on that topic.

Well on Friday, Facebook released a new tool that lets you snooze a particular person or pages for a defined period. During that time, their posts will not appear in your News Feed. The best part the person you are snoozing will not know about it, and after the lapse of the period you selected to snooze them, everything goes back to normal.

To use the snooze feature, the next time you see a post on your News Feed you don’t like, and won’t want to have to deal with over a duration of time of your choosing. Simply click the three dots on the top right side of the post and select ‘Snooze for 30 days’ on the drop-down menu.

As simple as that, you will have muted the friend(s) but still maintain your friendship online and (most importantly) you not having to bump into posts you would rather avoid. The Facebook Snooze feature works on posts by friends, groups, and pages.

(Visited 70 times, 1 visits today)
Share on Pinterest
Share with your friends










Submit