Some people even use the best photo catalog software to share multiple images at once instead of separate files. But what if you wanted to delete some of the shared content and photos in Facebook Messenger. Messenger users report that no matter how many times they delete photos and content from their Messenger threads, they still see the shared photos when they tap on “view shared photos” option in Messenger. People even see photos they shared almost a year ago. It seems the problem is device specific, meaning shared photos will not be available if you login Messenger from some other devices. That is mainly because the Messenger saves photos in the cache files. But users cannot remove shared photos even after deleting cache from their phones.
Delete Shared Photos, Content on Facebook Messenger
One of the most talked about ways to delete photos is to long press the photo in the chat thread and delete it. But this will only delete the content from your side. The other party will keep seeing it and you will also see them in the View Shared Photos section.
1- Perhaps the easiest way which has worked to delete shared content and photos on Facebook Messenger is to totally uninstall the app. Delete the app and wait for a few minutes. Install the Messenger app again and you will see that there will be no photos to see when you tap on View Shared Photos option.
2 This trick is pretty weird. But it works. Suppose you want to delete all the photos you once shared with your friend John. Make a new Facebook Group chat that will have three people in it: You, John and some other user. You can add any other friend. After you have made the group, ask your friend to leave the group, so that only you and John remain in the group. This chat thread will override the previous chat thread of you and John, thereby removing all shared photos and content.
4- Open Settings of your Phone and go to Storage. Now head over to Images and there will be a section for Messenger Photos. Here you will see Shared photos option. Delete all these photos manually. This will delete all the shared content on Facebook messenger.
5- If you are using an Android phone, follow the steps below.
Head over to Setting and go to Find Accounts and then click on Messenger and then use the top right button click it and remove account.
6) Go to Settings and Apps Manager and then Delete Cache and Data for Facebook Messenger App. Click on this link to see the detailed way to delete cache and data for any app.